the wedding arch

Do you ever have those moments where you know exactly what you want, but no matter how hard you search, you just cannot find it? This was my situation with the wedding arch. I was looking for something nice and simple, that we could attach flowers to, and was strong enough to be moved around. After a few weeks of searching, I realized that I would have to make my own.

Now, remember when you’re looking at the pictures, when I say “make my own”, I really mean “I conned my Dad into building it for me”…

First, we started with some deadwood, stripped the bark off, and cut them to size.

20042016_01

To make transportation easier, the arch would have to be able to be dismantled. After drilling some pilot holes, Dad screwed in some bolts, then chopped the top off them, so it was like a metal peg.

20042016_02

 This peg slid into a corresponding hole on the crossbar. We had to cable tie across the join to keep everything secure.

20042016_03

Testing out the height of the cross bar

To make the arch stand up on it’s own, we used some metal buckets, with a plastic pipe in the center, then filled around it with quick-set concrete. The bottom of the arch could slide in and out of the pipe.

20042016_04

On the morning of the wedding, we assembled the arch, and got to decorating it.

20042016_05

Yep, that’s me in my PJ’s…

I tied strips of white fabric to the cross bar and sides, then added the frame for the flowers. You can just see them in the picture above, I used chicken wire which was bent into an L shape. These were cable tied to the arch, then filled with flowers.

20042016_06

20042016_07

I really went to town with this, not only because I think it looked amazing over-stuffed, but I didn’t want any of the chicken wire showing.

20042016_08

The arch turned out exactly how I wanted. I’m so thankful that my Dad had the skills (and basically a workshop full of tools) to be able to bring the arch to life! It was the perfect frame for such a beautiful view.

20042016_09

Photo by James Day

Mitty x

 

Leave a comment