kensington romper

MBM_Kensington 05

I’m calling it, sewing clothing for kids is the ultimate scrap buster! I made this adorable romper from the left over bits of my Tokyo Jacket, and I think it’s almost too cute for words!

MBM_Kensington 06

For a real vintage vibe, I added this delicate white lace trim to the bodice. I did this before lining it, so all the stitching is hidden between the layers.

MBM_Kensington 07

I didn’t have enough fabric to add ruffles at the shoulders as written in the pattern. So I just used a straight length of fabric, did a tiny hem on one side, then used box pleats to create this gorgeous accent.

MBM_Kensington 08

I had some self-made bias binding left over from this project, and I thought it would be a nice addition to the romper. I used my trusty KAM press to insert the snaps at the crotch, and the colour match is spot on!

MBM_Kensington 09

I also used the snaps at the back closure, these are so quick and easy to install!

MBM_Kensington 10

I used some white cotton for the bodice lining, and I took my time hand-stitching up the waist hem. I really love spending a bit of time using hand stitching to finish off a project, it certainly makes for a nice clean result.

GARMENT DETAILS

Do you like to save your scraps for projects like this? I have a fairly decent scrap pile, so I’m sure there will be a few more rompers to show you soon.

Mitty x

1 thought on “kensington romper

  1. Pingback: true scrap busting kensington | Made by Mitty

Leave a comment