andover dress with ruffles

Following on from my Andover Dress hack, I decided to make another but with an added ruffle. This was a really simple design change, and I’m sure it could be used on a number of patterns.

MBM_Andover Dress 04

I took my modified bodice front and back pieces and found the halfway point of the shoulder seam. From there, I drew a straight line down to the waistline seam.

MBM_Andover Dress 05

This split the bodice piece so there was a center panel that would be cut on the fold, and two side panels (if you try this, don’t forget to add seam allowance back into your pattern!). In between these panels, I added a cute little ruffle. I was going to make it one layer of fabric and turn the raw edge under, but it looked a bit scrappy. Instead, I sewed two ruffle pieces together, right sides facing along the curved edge, turned it right sides out, and topstitched along the curved edge.

MBM_Andover Dress 06

The ruffle extends over to the back of the dress as well, making a really nice wing detail at the top of the shoulder.

MBM_Andover Dress 07

GARMENT DETAILS

  • Pattern brand/name/number: Originally the Andover Tee by Little Lizard King, which I hacked into a dress
  • Style/size: Ruffle bodice, short sleeve version, size 18 months
  • Fabric: Cotton jersey and ribbing for neckband from Spotlight
  • Notions: Matching thread, my personal label at the bottom of the skirt
  • Modifications/alterations:
    • Slashed the bodice pieces to add in a ruffle that starts at the front and extends to the back over the shoulder
    • Covered the back neckline ribbing with a strip of matching jersey

Little Miss certainly has a nice handmade wardrobe in the making, and I’m not about to stop sewing now!

Mitty x

Leave a comment